• Home  • Account  • Basket Contents  • Checkout
 

Home
Wooden Horse Store
Database Login
Glossary
About Us
Contact Us
Twitter
Blog: Magazine News
Blog: Working Smarter

Stay
up-to-date on

media news
for publicity
for writing
for photography
in our newsletter

Subscribe
Current newsletter



 

WOODEN HORSE NEWS
October 12, 2014

By
Meg Weaver, Editor-in-Chief/Publisher, mweaver@woodenhorsepub.com

 

http://www.woodenhorsepub.com
Copyright (c) 2014 Wooden Horse Publishing

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
* indicates media in the Wooden Horse Media Database - the media directory that's more like a media factbook
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
You can click on all shortened links in this newsletter with confidence.  We have created the links ourselves; we have visited the site; and we have tested the link.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Dear readers,

The Wooden Horse store crashed this week.

I have so far spent three intensive days on the phone being referred either to the hosting company in Silicon Valley or the store software company in San Diego - neither one willing to work together to solve the problem.

It’s just like the ebola fight in this country: People being shortsighted, one of the deadly sins in business.

The Dallas hospital turned away the Liberian man, Thomas Eric Duncan, the first time he sought help rather than admit and monitor him.

In the case of the crashed Wooden Horse store, both vendors chose not to spend any time on the phone to help a long-time customer.

Management - in either situation - clearly has created an environment that makes it comfortable for the staff to prioritize saving money as the first objective. It’s an easy decision immediately but shortsighted in the long run. As it is now, Mr. Duncan is dead, many are quarantined, panic is building as a nurse caring for him seems to be infected. The cost to the hospital, both in money and reputation, must be enormous.

The two companies refusing to help Wooden Horse are equally shortsighted. I have been with them since 1997, but do you think I will stay with them now?

So…being frugal is wise, but don’t be shortsighted.

 

And if you want to order something from Wooden Horse in the near future, please call us at (503) 338-4300.

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

WORKING SMARTER BUSINESS NEWS_______________________________

Plan to ship products this Christmas? Not complying with this new government rule can cost you $16,000.

If you sell products on the Internet or through other electronic means (email, fax, etc) you now have one more Federal Trade Commission (FTC) regulation to follow. The "Mail, Internet, or Telephone Order Merchandise Rule" prohibits sellers from soliciting mail, Internet, or telephone order sales unless they have a reasonable basis to expect that they can ship the ordered merchandise within the time stated on the solicitation or, if no time is stated, within 30 days.
 
If you can’t ship as promised (or within 30 days,) you must refund the customer’s payment. There are some specific requirements regarding this refund, so be sure to familiarize yourself with the specifics. The easiest document to read is the Bureau of Consumer Protection’s booklet ”Business Guide to the FTC's Mail or Telephone Order Merchandise Rule” for merchants. It has not been rewritten to include the Internet yet, but it is still a valid document.
 
Businesses in violation could be sued by the FTC for injunctive relief, monetary civil penalties of up to US$16,000 per violation and consumer redress.
 
This is not a new law but started its life in 1975 as the "Mail Order Merchandise Rule," added telephone orders in 1993 and renamed the rule to “Mail or Telephone Order Merchandise Rule.” It has now morphed into the “Mail, Internet, or Telephone Order Merchandise Rule.”
 
This new regulation will go into effect on December 8, 2014. Yes – right before the Christmas rush.

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

MEDIA NEWS_______________________________

Seventeen* and Cosmopolitan* will be sharing editorial staff as Hearst has announced the formation of a new group to be called the “Millennial Group” consisting of the two magazines. In this group, Cosmo generally comprises the older, over-21-year-olds; Seventeen, the younger. Seventeen’s editor-in-chief Ann Shoket will leave Hearst but no word about the remaining staff…

The MedTech Strategist is a new print trade publication covering all forms of global medtech topics and trends. The biweekly replaces the shuttered magazines In Vivo, Start-Up, and MedTech Insight. It will “feature interviews with industry leaders, stories on leading companies, profiles of ground-breaking start-ups and analyses of dynamic clinical markets and technology trends, all in an effort to not just explain what is going on in the device space today, but why these events are occurring and what they may lead to in the future on a worldwide scale.” It is published by Innovation In Medtech, LLC of Fairfield, CT and co-editors-in-chief are David Cassak, d.cassak@medtechinno.com, @DCassak, and Stephen Levin…

Variety now has two new co-editors-in-chief, Claudia Eller and Andrew Wallenstein. They were formerly editor-in-chief, film, and editor-in-chief, digital, respectively, and will now share responsibility overseeing news operations as newly-named co-editors-in-chief…

Veria Living, the health and wellness television network, is changing its name to Z Living. It is supposed to reflect the network’s expanding global reach…

Golly magazine, a publication that is “a new approach to the women’s interest genre,” just published its first quarterly issue and promises to be “modern, irreverent, and inclusive.” A yearly subscription is $40 and it is available in select boutiques. It easily reached its Kickstarter goal of $30,000 in just 17 days. The publication was founded by Editor-in-Chief Roxanne Fequiere, roxanne@gollymagazine.com, and Alley O'Shea, the creative director…

Eater Louisville, Eater Toronto and Eater Vancouver will shut down as separate websites and their content will now appear on the national Eater site…

Clear Channel, the largest radio station network in the United States, has changed its name to iHeartMedia. Associated companies in the complicated Clear Channel business structure will rebrand using various versions of “iHeart”. Only the outdoor advertising division will retain the Clear Channel affiliation…

Biz New Orleans covers new and small businesses in the city of New Orleans, LA – especially those starting and rebuilding after hurricane Katrina devastated the area. The monthly print magazine highlights people and companies in news and commentary. “Since 2005 New Orleans has developed into one of America’s leading business communities and our city needs a business magazine to tell that story: Biz New Orleans is that storyteller.” It is published by Metairie LA-based Renaissance Publishing, which also publishes New Orleans Magazine and Louisiana Life. Errol Laborde, errol@renpubllc.com, is the editor-in-chief and Kimberley Singletary, kimberley@bizneworleans.com, is the managing editor…

The Daily ‘Dog, the daily PR online trade journal, and its owner, the Bulldog Reporter, and its parent company, Infocom Group, sadly has ceased operation. An October 1 press release attributed “profitability” as the cause…

The Toronto Sun, sister papers in Ottawa, Winnipeg, Calgary and Edmonton, Canoe.ca, and assorted other media have been purchased by Postmedia Network from Quebecor Media for CAN$316 million. "We need this scale, and of course time, to be able to compete with the giant foreign-owned, digital-only companies like Google, Facebook, Yahoo, Twitter, etc.," Postmedia CEO Paul Godfrey said in a news conference. There are no immediate plans for layoffs, though Godfrey didn't rule them out either…

AfterEllen.com has been sold to Evolve Media, a Los Angeles company that owns and operates about 45 "enthusiast" websites. Terms of the deal were not disclosed. “The content you’ve come to us for in the last 12 years will continue to have a home on AfterEllen,” newly appointed editor-in-chief Trish Bendix, @trishbendix, wrote in a post on the site…

Crain’s 5boros is a new lifestyle magazine and website targeting NYC urban explorers eager to roam a big city bursting with “new neighborhoods, new friends and new experiences.” The quarterly covers food, fashion, retail, the arts, residential real estate and more and “chronicles the resurgence of neighborhoods in every borough of the city. It's a trail guide to all that's fun in all corners of the five boroughs of New York City, connecting both established and emerging neighborhoods with insight on the best places to live, eat, shop, play and create.” The website features daily updates and a blog network by local writers. It is published by Crain Communications and contact is Deputy Managing Editor Valerie Block, vblock@crain.com, @ValerieBlock…

 

Media News Especially for PR Professionals and
Small Business Owners Seeking Publicity:

Fusion, the joint online and television venture between Spanish-language Univision and the Disney-ABC Television Group, has hired the TheAtlantic.com deputy editor Alexis Madrigal as “the anchor of a television show…that will help us understand what living in the future might actually be like,” according to a memo from Fusion’s chief executive, Isaac Lee, to staff members. Mr. Madrigal will start on November 3rd but no other dates have been announced…

Vessel, the “soon-to-launch” website that is believed to become a competitor to YouTube, has begun to talk to advertisers. It is positioning itself to them as a place where “subscribers can get an advance look at popular short-form video content days before it hits other web destinations such as YouTube,” according to Wall Street Journal. Beyond saying that Vessel will soft launch in November, no dates have been announced…

Funny or Die News” launched this week on the “Funny or Die” site and mobile app. It is a daily news show modeled on “The Onion” or “The Daily Show.” Need we say more? Oh yeah…Dan Abramson, @danabramson, is editor-in-chief…

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
* indicates media in the Wooden Horse Media Database - the media directory that's more like a media factbook
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

MEDIA PEOPLE CHANGES_______________________________

The International Business Times, a news website, has a new business editor, John Simons, news@ibtimes.com...

The Fader*, the music and fashion magazine, has a new editor-in-chief, Naomi Zeichner…

Seventeen* is losing editor-in-chief Ann Shoket, @annshoket…

People.com will have a new editor on Oct 20, Will Lee, editor@people.com, @willlee…

Saveur* has a new editor-in-chief, Adam Sachs, edit@saveur.com...

The Butter, a new site for cultural criticism, has a new editor-in-chief, Roxane Gay, @rgay…

Nylon* has a new editorial director, Leila Brillson, leila@nylonmag.com, @leilaclaire

Time has a new culture writer, Daniel D'Addario, @DPD_...

Time* has a new multimedia editor, Mia Tramz, mia_tramz@timeinc.com...

Time* has a new senior editor of special projects, Kelly Conniff, kelly_conniff@timeinc.com, @kellyconniff…

Time* has a new assistant managing editor, Sam Jacobs, sam_jacobs@timeinc.com, @sampjacobs…

Time* has a new assistant managing editor, Matt Vella, matt.vella@time.com, @mattvella…

Newsweek* has a new digital editor, Jacqueline Bischof, j.bischof@newsweek.com, @JaxBischof…  

Time* magazine has a new archive editor, Lily Rothman, lily_rothman@timemagazine.com, @lilyrothman…   

Time* magazine has a new news reporter, Jack Linshi, jack.linshi@time.com, @jacklinshi…     

Time* magazine has a new health editor, Mandy Oaklander, mandy.oaklander@time.com, @mandyoaklander…

Dr. Oz The Good Life* magazine has a new lifestyle director, Miranda Van Gelder, mvangelder@hearst.com...

Dr. Oz The Good Life* magazine has a new senior editor covering health, Maria Masters, mmasters@hearst.com...

Los Angeles Times has a new reporter covering Wall Street, Dean Starkman, @deanstarkman…

Shape* magazine has a new deputy editor, Rory Evans, revans@shape.com...   

All You*, the magazine catering to budget-conscious women, has a new creative director Tracy Everding, tracy_everding@allyou.com...  

The Indianapolis Star is without sports reporter Mike Chappell, @mchappell51…

Associated Press has a new NJ politics and government reporter in Trenton, NJ, Michael Catalini, @mikecatalini…

GreenWire, the news service, is without reporter Jessica Estepa…

Defense One has a new defense reporter, Gordon Lubold, glubold@defenseone.com, @glubold…

Defense One has a new global business reporter, Marcus Weisgerber, @MarcusReports…

‘Today’ on NBC has a new lifestyle and fitness correspondent, Jenna Wolfe, jenna.wolfe@nbcuni.com, @JennaWolfe…

Puget Sound Business Journal has a new reporter covering healthcare and biotechnology, Annie Zak, azak@bizjournals.com, @annie_zak…    

Marie Claire* has a new managing editor, Catherine Gundersen, @CHGundersen…

Washington Post has a new Pentagon correspondent, Missy Ryan, @missy_ryan…

The Motley Fool is without contributing writer Fani Kelesidou, who covered wearable tech, retail and fashion…

Tulsa World has a new writer covering pop culture and features, Jimmie Tramel, jimmie.tramel@tulsaworld.com, @JimmieTramel…

AnandTech, the site covering the latest in hardware news, has a new editor-in-chief, Ryan Smith, @RyanSmithAT…  

Shape* magazine has a new executive editor, Isabel Burton, iburton@shape.com, @Isabel_Burton…

Shape* magazine has a new chief content director, Elizabeth Goodman Artis, egoodman@shape.com, @egartis…

Shape* magazine has a new executive fashion director, Audrey Slater, aslater@shape.com, @audreyslaternyc…   

Shape* magazine has a new fitness director, Jaclyn Emerick, jemerick@shape.com, @jaclynemerick…

Travel + Leisure* magazine has a new executive editor, Jeffries Blackerby, jeffries.blackerby@travelandleisure.com...

Politico has a new executive editor, Peter Canellos, pcanellos@politico.com...

People* magazine has a new associate food and lifestyle editor, Morgan Gibson, morgan_gibson@peoplemag.com, @MorganGibson…   

Richmond Magazine* has a new food editor, Stephanie Breijo, stephanieb@richmag.com, @breijOR_THEY…   

The New York Times has a new national political correspondent, Trip Gabriel, tgabriel@nytimes.com, @tripgabriel…

The New York Times has a new Mid-Atlantic bureau chief, Jennifer Steinhauer, jestei@nytimes.com, @jestei…   

YouBeauty is without Executive Editor Courtney Dunlop, @BeautyEditorNYC…

The Huffington Post* has a new social media director, Lauren Reddy, lauren.reddy@huffingtonpost.com, @MissReddy…   

The Information, the tech business site, has a new columnist, Martin Peers, hello@theinformation.com, @mvpeers…    

The Information, the tech business site, has a new columnist, Stephen Nellis, snellis@pacbiztimes.com...   

GQ.com has a new culture writer, Lindy West, lindy_west@gq.com, @thelindywest…

Arthur Frommer’s Budget Travel* magazine has a new senior editor, Jamie Beckman, jamie.beckman@budgettravel.com, @jamiebeckman…

Jezebel* has a new culture editor, Julianne Escobedo Shepherd, jawnita@gmail.com, @jawnita…   

Jezebel* has a new features writer, Jia Tolentino, jia.tolentino@gmail.com, @jiatolentino…

Jezebel* has a new staff writer, Clover Hope, cloverhope@gmail.com, @clovito…  

Bloomberg News is without Alan Ohnsman, @alanohnsman…

TWICE, This Week In Consumer Electronics, has a new editor-in-chief, John Laposky, jlaposky@nbmedia.com, @johnlaposky…

Vanity Fair* is without online style editor Priya Rao…

Vanity Fair* has a new online deputy editor, Matthew Lynch, matthew_lynch@condenast.com, @mbradylynch…   

Jezebel* has a new editor-in-chief, Emma Carmichael, emma@jezebel.com, @emmacargo…

Jezebel* has a new editor-at-large, former Editor-in-Chief Jessica Coen, @jessicacoen…

Women’s Health* has a new executive editor, Theresa O’Rourke, @TheresaORourke…

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
* indicates media in the Wooden Horse Media Database - the media directory that's more like a media factbook
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

SOLUTIONS FROM WOODEN HORSE:

Get your freelance or small business problems solved

How to keep your website attracting customers - for non-geeks:
    Working Smarter blog: Tips, industry news and our experiences
    Print book: Search Engine Optimization: An Hour a Day
    Print book: Web Analytics: An Hour a Day

How to find out about new opportunities, staff changes and other media news - for publicity or selling creative articles or photographs:
    Twitter: All day long media news, as soon as it arrives
    Media News blog: New media opportunities with more details than Twitter
    News newsletter: Sunday recap for those too busy during the week

To get contact information for media - for publicity or selling articles or photographs:
    Media Database: A media directory for freelance writers and photographers, PR agencies and small business owners
    Media Lists: A year’s worth of updated monthly contact information to media staff by category

...and to order, please call us at (503) 338-4300 for a short time (we hope)

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

There hasn’t been much time for reading this week, but if I had had time, I would continue to devour “The 80/20 Manager: The Secret to Working Less and Achieving More” by Richard Koch. Check it out.

 

And don’t forget to encourage someone to read,

Meg

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
* indicates media in the Wooden Horse Media Database - the media directory that's more like a media factbook
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Wooden Horse Publishing
http://www.woodenhorsepub.com
PO Box 53
Astoria, OR 97103
(503) 338-4300



Wooden Horse logoGet your own copy of this newsletter in your inbox every other Sunday morning - it's free. Subscribe to keep up-to-date on news for writers, photographers, PR professionals and anyone seeking publicity.